Continents Population 2024


World is divided into seven geographical regions are commonly regarded as continents. Ordered from largest in area to smallest, these seven continents are Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia. Each continent is a discrete landmass, Oceanic islands are grouped to a close continent or nearby to divide land into geographical regions. Continent is the one of the Earth's seven main divisions of land, the continents add up to about 148 million square kilometers (57 million square miles) of land. Coastlines do not indicate the actual boundaries of the continents. Europe and Asia is one piece of land called Eurasia. But ethnically, or by linguistically, Europe and Asia are distinct, most geographers divide Eurasia into Europe and Asia.

ContinentArea (Sq Km)Area (Sq Mi)Total land %Population 2021 estimatePopulation % of total
Asia44,614,00017,226,00029.8%4.7 billion60%
Africa30,365,00011,724,00020.3%1.4 billion17%
North America24,230,0009,360,00016.2%600 million7.6%
South America17,814,0006,878,00011.9%430 million5.6%
Europe10,000,0003,900,0006.7%750 million9.8%
Oceania8,510,9003,286,1005.6%44 million0.54%

7 Continents of the World


Asia is the largest continent by area and by population. Land Comprising 30% of the world's land area, borders Pacific Ocean to the east, the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Indian Ocean to the south, and Europe to the west. It comprises 50 countries, 60% of the world's population lives in Asia Continent.


Africa is the second largest continent by both land area and population. This Continent makes up about 20.3% of the world's total land mass. Africa comprises 54 countries, borders Indian Ocean to the east, the Atlantic Ocean to the west and the Mediterranean Sea and the Red Sea to the north.

North America

North America is the third largest continent in the world by land area. It is the fourth largest continent by population. North America comprises 23 countries, most part of continent is shared between Canada the the United States. North America is entirely in the northern hemisphere, borders Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic ocean to the east, the Pacific Ocean to the west, and South America to the south.

South America

South America is the world's fourth largest continent by land area, and the third most populous continent in the world, It comprises 12 countries, borders Atlantic Ocean to the east, the Pacific Ocean to the west, the Southern Ocean to the south, and North America to the north.


Antarctica is the fifth largest continent by land area, and the least populated continent, has no population and no countries. Antarctica is the coldest continent in the world, Located at the South Pole, Antarctica is an island, and is completely surrounded by the Southern Ocean.


Europe is the the sixth largest continent by land area, Europe Continent is world's third most populated continent, and It comprises 51 countries. Europe Continent borders Black Sea and the Mediterranean Sea to the south, the Arctic Ocean to the north, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west and The Ural and Caucasus Mountains to be the eastern side.


The term Oceania is also used to describe this region, includes Australasia, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Australia is the world's smallest continent and second least populated. Australia continent comprises 14 countries.

© 2019-2024 PopulationU, Research papers on Population dynamics and Social affairs, Contact | Privacy | About | Terms | company profile