Albania Population

Albania is a country in Southeastern Europe, borders with Montenegro to the northwest, Kosovo to the northeast, North Macedonia to the east and Greece to the south, located in the western part of the Balkan Peninsula on the Strait of Otranto, the southern entrance to the Adriatic Sea. Albania population in 2022 is estimated to be 2.81 million, covers country area of 28,748 sq km (11,100 sq mi), ranks one-hundred-thirty-ninth populous country in the world, capital of Albania is Tirana, is the largest city, followed by Durrës, Vlorë, Elbasan, Shkodër and Fier. Albania country code is ALB.


Albania population in 1960 is 1,608,800, by 1970 the population is increased by 526,679 totaling to 2,135,479, by 1980 the population is increased to 2,671,997, and by 1990 the total increase of 3,286,542 in 30 years from 1960 to 1990 resulting to 3,286,542. From 1990 to 2000, population increased to 3,089,027, and from 2000 to 2010 the population of Albania decline by -176,006 with a change of -5.70 percent and decrease of population from 2010 to 2020 by -75,278 with a change of -2.58 percent and make up to 2,837,743. Population of Albania in 2021 is estimated 2.82 million. Albania's population over the last three decades population is declining due to low birth rates and the large emigration due to post-communist era.

The counties of Albania are the largest administrative subdivisions of Albania. The 12 counties are composed of 61 municipalities, further dividing into 373 administrative units. Population of Albanian counties are the estimates in 2020.

CountyMunicipalitiesTerritorial UnitsAreaPopulation (2020)
BeratBerat, Kuçovë, Poliçan, Skrapar, Ura VajguroreSouthern Region1,798 sq km(694 sq mi)122,003
DibërBulqizë, Dibër, Klos, MatNorthern Region2,586 sq km(998 sq mi)115,857
DurrësDurrës, Krujë, ShijakNorthern Region766 sq km(296 sq mi)290,697
ElbasanBelsh, Cërrik, Elbasan, Gramsh, Librazhd, Peqin, PrrenjasCentral Region3,199 sq km(1,235 sq mi)270,074
FierDivjakë, Fier, Lushnjë, Mallakastër, Patos, RoskovecSouthern Region1,890 sq km(730 sq mi)289,889
GjirokastërDropull, Gjirokastër, Këlcyrë, Libohovë, Memaliaj, Përmet, TepelenëSouthern Region2,884 sq km(1,114 sq mi)59,381
KorçëDevoll, Kolonjë, Korçë, Maliq, Pogradec, PustecSouthern Region3,711 sq km(1,433 sq mi)204,831
KukësHas, Kukës, TropojëNorthern Region2,374 sq km(917 sq mi)75,428
LezhëKurbin, Lezhë, MirditëNorthern Region1,620 sq km(630 sq mi)122,700
ShkodërFushë-Arrëz, Malësi e Madhe, Pukë, Shkodër, Vau i DejësNorthern Region3,562 sq km(1,375 sq mi)200,007
TiranaKamëz, Kavajë, Rrogozhinë, Tirana, VorëCentral Region1,652 sq km(638 sq mi)906,166
VlorëDelvinë, Finiq, Himarë, Konispol, Sarandë, Selenicë, VlorëSouthern Region2,706 sq km(1,045 sq mi)188,922

Source : worldbank

© 2019-2022 populationU, Research papers on Population dynamics and Social affairs