Equatorial Guinea Population 2024


Equatorial Guinea is a country on the west coast of Central Africa, Continental Equatorial Guinea is a roughly rectangular territory, borders Cameroon to the north and Gabon to the east and south. The small islands of Corisco and Great and Little Elobey are near the coast. Bioko is the largest island lies off the coast of Cameroon. Annobón is a volcanic island lies south of the Equator and almost 400 miles to the southwest of Bioko. Formerly the colony of Spanish, also called Spanish Guinea, post independence the name changed to Equatorial Guinea due to the country position near the equator. Equatorial Guinea population in 2024 is estimated to be 1.52 million, covers country area of 28,050 sq km (10,830 sq mi), ranks one-hundred-forty-first country by area and the one-hundred-fifty-third most populous country in the world. Its capital is Malabo, Ciudad de la Paz being built to replace Malabo. Country code is GNQ, Spanish and Portuguese is the official language. At independence of three Guinea's from France and Spain, Spanish Guinea became Equatorial Guinea, French Guinea became Guinea, and Portuguese Guinea became Guinea-Bissau.

Below table is the population of Equatorial Guinea from 1960 to 2020:

Equatorial Guinea Population Growth

Equatorial Guinea people are mostly Bantu origin, population in 1960 is 255,338, by 1970 the population is increased by 48,648 totaling to 303,986, by 1980 the population is increased to 249,931, and by 1990 the total increase of 419,188 in 30 years from 1960 to 1990 resulting to 419,188. From 1990 to 2000, population increased to 606,180, and from 2000 to 2010 the population of Equatorial Guinea increase by 337,460 with a change of 55.67 percent and increase of population from 2010 to 2020 by 459,345 with a change of 48.68 percent and make up to 1,402,985. Equatorial Guinea population in 2023 is estimated to be 1.55 million, population in 2022 is estimated to be 1.49 million, Population of Equatorial Guinea in 2021 is estimated as 1.44 million.

Source : worldbank

Equatorial Guinea Population by Province

Equatorial Guinea is divided into two regions and eight provinces, Insular Region (capital at Malabo) and Río Muni are the two regions, Malabo is the capital of Insular Region and Bata is the capital of Río Muni.

ProvinceCapitalPopulation (2015)Area (sq km)
 AnnobónSan Antonio de Palé5,31417
 Bioko NorteRebola300,374776
 Bioko SurLuba34,6741,241
 Centro SurEvinayong141,9869,931
 DjiblohoCiudad de la Paz453

© 2019-2024 PopulationU, Research papers on Population dynamics and Social affairs, Contact | Privacy | About | Terms | company profile