Mauritania Population 2024


Mauritania is a country in Northwest Africa, most of the territory in Sahara, borders Algeria to the northeast, Mali to the east and southeast, Senegal to the southwest, Atlantic Ocean to the west, Western Sahara to the north and northwest. Mauritania is a former french colony, part of French West Africa gained independence in 1960. Mauritania population in 2024 is estimated to be 5.22 million, covers country area of 1,030,000 sq km (400,000 sq mi), ranks twenty-eighth country by area, eleventh largest country in Africa and the one-hundred-twenty-sixth most populous country in the world. Its capital and largest city is Nouakchott, other popular cities are Nouadhibou, Kiffa, Mbera Refugee Camp, Kaédi, Zouérat and Rosso. Country code is MRT, Population of Mauritania in 2021 is estimated as 4.77 million. Life expectancy of Mauritania is 68.08 years for male and 68.73 years for female. Ethnic groups proportion is 40% are Haratin 30% are Arab-Berber and 30% are Halpulaar, Fulani, Mande, and Wolof. Mauritania national languages are Arabic, Pulaar, Soninke and Wolof, the official language is Arabic, French is widely recognised and used in media.

Below table is the population of Mauritania from 1960 to 2020:

Mauritania Population Growth

Mauritania population in 1960 is 850,377, by 1970 the population is increased by 296,399 totaling to 1,146,776, by 1980 the population is increased to 1,540,644, and by 1990 the total increase of 2,034,347 in 30 years from 1960 to 1990 resulting to 2,034,347. From 1990 to 2000, population increased by 595,870 to 2,630,217, and from 2000 to 2010 the population of Mauritania increase by 863,983 with a change of 32.85 percent and increase of population from 2010 to 2020 by 1,155,460 with a change of 33.07 percent and make up to 4,649,660. Mauritania population in 2023 is estimated to be 5.06 million, population in 2022 is estimated to be 4.89 million, and Population of Mauritania in 2021 is estimated as 4.77 million.

Source : worldbank

Mauritania Population by Departments

Mauritania is divided into 15 regions, and further subdivided into 44 departments.

Region in ArabicRegionCapitalAreaPopulation (2013)
أدرارAdrarAtar235,000 sq km (91,000 sq mi)62,658
لعصابةAssabaKiffa36,600 sq km (14,100 sq mi)325,897
لبراكنةBraknaAleg33,000 sq km (13,000 sq mi)312,277
داخلة نواذيبوDakhlet NouadhibouNouadhibou23,090 sq km (8,920 sq mi)123,779
كوركولGorgolKaédi13,600 sq km (5,300 sq mi)335,917
غيديماغاGuidimakaSélibaby10,300 sq km (4,000 sq mi)267,029
الحوض الشرقيHodh Ech CharguiNéma182,700 sq km (70,500 sq mi)430,668
الحوض الغربيHodh El GharbiAyoun el Atrous53,400 sq km (20,600 sq mi)294,109
إينشيريInchiriAkjoujt46,800 sq km (18,100 sq mi)19,639
نواكشوط الشماليةNouakchott-NordDar-Naim306 sq km (118 sq mi)366,912
نواكشوط الغربيةNouakchott-OuestTevragh-Zeina146 sq km (56 sq mi)165,814
نواكشوط الجنوبيةNouakchott-SudArafat252 sq km (97 sq mi)425,673
تكانتTagantTidjikja98,340 sq km (37,970 sq mi)80,962
تيرس زمورTiris ZemmourZouérat252,900 sq km (97,600 sq mi)53,261
الترارزهTrarzaRosso67,800 sq km (26,200 sq mi)272,773

© 2019-2024 PopulationU, Research papers on Population dynamics and Social affairs, Contact | Privacy | About | Terms | company profile